Toggle Nav

Reforestation Grants


WWF has an ambitious goal to restore 20 landscapes of outstanding importance within priority ecoregions by 2020. In order to help accomplish this goal, WWF’s Russell E. Train Education for Nature (EFN) program, with generous funding from the UPS Foundation, has a special grant opportunity focused on Forest Landscape Restoration (FLR). FLR is defined as a planned process that aims to regain ecological integrity and enhance human wellbeing in deforested or degraded forest landscapes. (WWF and IUCN 2000)

>Click here for full guidelines and to access the online application.


trees planted

Since 2013, EFN supported the planting of more than 470,000 trees in 12 countries.

What WWF Is Doing

Application Deadlines

This year, EFN reviewed applications in 2 rounds.

Applications must be submitted online by one of the two following deadlines:

  1. December 15, 2014
  2. March 15, 2015

Please note: All activities must take place before August 31, 2015.


For more information on Reforestation Grants and other opportunities through EFN, send an email message to Please include your country of origin.

Building Leadership and Capacity for Forest Landscape Restoration

In October 2012, The UPS Foundation awarded WWF a grant of $100,000 to launch a special EFN grant opportunity to support Forest Landscape Restoration projects throughout Africa, Asia, and Latin America. With this support, in 2013, WWF was able to award workshop grants to 11 organizations to conduct local reforestation and restoration projects. These workshop grants:

  • Provided important training opportunities on reforestation and restoration to approximately 3,000 individuals;
  • Supported the planting of more than 70,000 trees in 10 countries; and
  • Created a network for organizations engaged in reforestation and restoration efforts to share lessons learned.

EFN hopes to continue last year's success with this year's grant opportunities.

2014 Reforestation Grant Opportunity

EFN is offering reforestation grants to local organizations from:

  • Mesoamerican Reef (Belize, Guatemala, Honduras)
  • Tropical Andes (Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru)
  • Coastal East Africa (Kenya, Mozambique, Tanzania)
  • Madagascar
  • Eastern Himalayas (Bhutan, Nepal)
  • Greater Mekong (Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Vietnam)
  • Borneo and Sumatra (Indonesia)

>Click here for full guidelines and to access the online application.