Western Australia

  • Scientific Code
  • Ecoregion Category
  • Size
    69,400 square miles
  • Status
  • Habitats

Justification of Ecoregion Delineation
The Pilbara Shrublands Ecoregion includes the ‘Pilbara’ IBRA, and includes the large Pilbara Craton, which contains the mountainous Hamersley region, the Fortescue Plains, and the Chicester and Roebourne regions. Acacia and Triodia species are common (Thackway and Cresswell 1995).

Thackway, R. and I. D. Cresswell. editors. 1995. An Interim Biogeographic Regionalisation for Australia: a framework for establishing the national system of reserves, Version 4.0. Australian Nature Conservation Agency, Canberra.

Prepared by: Angas Hopkins
Reviewed by: