Meet the Next Generation of Conservation Leaders

WWF welcomes the recipients of the Russell E. Train Fellowship

EFN Grantee Celia

WWF’s Russell E. Train Education for Nature Program (EFN) would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2015 Russell E. Train Fellowship.

For over 20 years, EFN has supported inspiring individuals from across the globe to earn advanced degrees in conservation-related fields. Train Fellows attend top universities around the world, work closely with leading conservation specialists, and research topics critical to WWF and the conservation community.

This year 24 outstanding conservationists from Africa, Asia, and Latin America were selected from over 200 applications worldwide. These individuals will research a variety of critical topics including forest conservation, marine/coastal management, and climate change. They join the distinguished group of Train Fellows already working to protect nature and reduce the most pressing threats to our planet.

Train Fellowships are named after the late Russell E. Train, founder and chairman emeritus of WWF-US. Mr. Train recognized the enormous need for conservation capacity on a global scale and felt that without education and training, the full potential of promising leaders would never be achieved. To help build capacity in critical places and make his vision a reality, EFN has provided support to over 2,100 conservationists worldwide.

WWF is proud to announce the 2015 Train Fellows:

  • Valeria Biffi Isla (Peru): PhD in Environmental Policy, London School of Economics, UK
  • Roger Patrick Boundja (Republic of Congo): PhD in Conservation Biology, University of Massachusetts, USA
  • Celia da Conceicao Felisberto Macamo (Mozambique): PhD in Mangrove Conservation and Management, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
  • Mirna Ines Fernandez Pradel (Bolivia): Master’s in Tropical Biodiversity and Ecosystems, Free University of Brussels, Belgium
  • Mireille Pascaline Feudijo Tsague (Cameroon): PhD in Climate Change, University of Yaounde, Cameroon
  • Clerica Lisangela Flavio dos Mucudos (Mozambique): Master’s in Tropical Forestry, Dresden University of Technology, Germany
  • Oscar Ernesto Gonzalez Medina (Peru): PhD in Interdisciplinary Ecology, University of Florida, USA
  • Nelly Kadagi (Kenya): PhD in Fisheries and Applied Aquatic Sciences, University of Florida, USA
  • Serge Alexis Kamgang (Cameroon): PhD in Conservation Biology, University of Abomey Calavi, Benin
  • Pamela Kamya (Papua New Guinea): PhD in Marine Sciences, Southern Cross University, Australia
  • Henry Kaniki (Solomon Islands): Master’s in Conservation Biology, University of the South Pacific, Solomon Islands
  • Daniela Lainez del Pozo (Peru): PhD in Geography, University College London, UK
  • Beckline Mukete Awah (Cameroon): PhD in Forest Management, Beijing Forestry University, China
  • Anildo Naftal Natanial (Mozambique): PhD in Marine and Coastal Fisheries Management, Alicante University, Spain
  • Sydney Thony Ndolo Ebika (Republic of Congo): PhD in Natural Resources and Agronomy, Marien Ngouabi University, Republic of Congo
  • Toai Nguyen (Vietnam): PhD in Environmental Management, La Trobe University, Australia
  • Margaret Owuor (Kenya): PhD in Marine Sciences, University of Cadiz, Spain
  • Pedro Pires (Mozambique): Master’s in Marine Biology, Eduardo Mondlane University, Mozambique
  • Alfan Rija (Tanzania): PhD in Biology, University of York, UK
  • Maria Constanza Rios-Marin (Colombia): PhD in Interdisciplinary Ecology, University of Florida, USA
  • Anjara Saloma (Madagascar): PhD in Conservation Biology, University of Antananarivo, Madagascar and University of Paris-Sud, France
  • Annae Maria Senkoro (Mozambique): PhD in Environmental Studies, Rhodes University, South Africa
  • Thakur Silwal (Nepal): PhD in Geography, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
  • Arthur Tuda (Kenya): PhD in Marine Coastal Management, University of Cadiz, Spain