WWF welcomes a new class of conservation leaders

Meet the recipients of the Russell E. Train Fellowship

EFN fellow Trang Nguyen

WWF’s Russell E. Train Education for Nature Program (EFN) would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2016 Russell E. Train Fellowship.

For 22 years, EFN has supported inspiring individuals from across the globe to earn advanced degrees in conservation-related fields. Train Fellows attend top universities around the world, work closely with leading conservation specialists, and research topics critical to WWF and the conservation community.

This year 35 outstanding conservationists from Africa, Asia, and Latin America were selected from applicants worldwide. These individuals will research a variety of critical topics including wildlife conservation, freshwater management, and climate change impacts. They join the distinguished group of Train Fellows already working to protect nature and reduce the most pressing threats to our planet.

Train Fellowships are named after the late Russell E. Train, founder and chairman emeritus of WWF-US. Mr. Train recognized the enormous need for conservation capacity on a global scale and felt that without education and training, the full potential of promising leaders would never be achieved. To help build capacity in critical places and make his vision a reality, EFN has provided support to over 2,300 conservationists worldwide.

WWF is proud to announce the 2016 Train Fellows: 

  • Kinley Choden (Bhutan): Master’s in Epidemiology, Kasetsart University, Thailand
  • Pamela Liliana Claure Gutierrez (Bolivia): Master’s in Water Science and Engineering, UNESCO IHE Institute for Water, Netherlands
  • Tashi Dhendup (Bhutan): Master’s in Wildlife Biology, University of Montana, USA
  • Tshering Dorji (Bhutan): PhD in Freshwater Conservation, Griffith University, Australia
  • Harith Omar Morgandinho Farooq (Mozambique): PhD in Biogeography, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal and University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Ndeinekela Emilia Haimbili (Namibia): PhD in Restoration Ecology, University of Western Australia, Australia
  • Vilanath Koumphon (Laos): Master’s in Forestry, National University of Laos, Laos
  • Jewel Anita Liddell (Guyana): PhD in Biology, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK
  • Hussein Mohamed Luswaga (Tanzania): PhD in Conservation Livelihoods, Justus Liebig University, Germany
  • Aires Mbanze (Mozambique): PhD in Economic Valuation of Ecosystem Services, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
  • Yasmin Morales (Guatemala): PhD in Interdisciplinary Ecology with concentration in Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, Texas A&M, USA
  • Tutilo Mudumba (Uganda): PhD in Fisheries and Wildlife, Michigan State University, USA
  • Nicholas Muhesi (Uganda): Master’s in Natural Resource Management, Mountains of the Moon University, Uganda
  • Caroline Mwebaze (Uganda): Master’s in Environment and Natural Resources Management, Makerere University, Uganda
  • Trang Nguyen (Vietnam): PhD in Biodiversity Management, University of Kent, UK
  • Henry Abi Nibam (Cameroon): PhD in Biodiversity and Evolutionary Biology, University of Valencia, Spain
  • Kyaw Moe Oo (Myanmar): Professional Certificate in Aquaculture, Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand
  • Kevin Wafula Opondo (Kenya): Master’s in Conservation Biology, University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • Jagadish Parajuli (Nepal): PhD in Sustainability, Arizona State University, USA
  • Shambhu Paudel (Nepal): PhD in Conservation Biology, University of Arizona, USA
  • Koudkeo Phommachan (Laos): Master’s in Biology, National University of Laos, Laos
  • Xayyasith Phommachanthone (Laos): Master’s in Biology, National University of Laos, Laos
  • Chaikeo Saengsulin (Laos): Master’s in Biology, University of Laos, Laos
  • Kamdet Sayyavong (Laos): Master’s in Forestry, National University of Laos, Laos
  • Sengvilay Seateun (Laos): PhD in Zoology, Kasetsart University, Thailand
  • Sandeep Shrestha (Nepal): PhD Conservation Biology, Kathmandu University, Nepal and University of Rhode Island, USA
  • Muri Soares (Mozambique): Master’s in Conservation and Biodiversity Management, Universidade Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique
  • Pyae Sone Soe (Myanmar): Master’s in Agricultural Science, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Keooudone Souvannakhoummane (Laos): Master’s in Biology, National University of Laos, Laos
  • Hoang Thach (Vietnam): PhD in Human Ecology, Rutgers University, USA
  • Nguyen Van Thanh (Vietnam): PhD in Conservation Biology, University of Potsdam, Germany
  • Thin Thwe Thwe (Myanmar): PhD in River Basin Management, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Segundo Bolier Torres Navarrete (Ecuador): PhD in Economy of Natural Resources, Technische Universität Munchen, Germany
  • Houan Vorasane (Laos): Master’s in Forestry, National University of Laos, Laos
  • Mercy Njeri Waithira (Kenya): Master’s in Conservation Biology, University of Kent, UK